Pe Ell’s Annika Mason Named 1B Columbia Valley MVP


Annika Mason finished up her high school career with an MVP award after the 1B Columbia Valley League announced its all-league teams on June 10.

Mason, a forward, averaged 16.3 points per game for a Trojans team that battled with low numbers most of the year, regularly playing with just one sub.

Also joining the first team was teammate and sophomore Charlie Carper, who averaged 17.4 points per game.

The district championship-winning Mossyrock Vikings earned two first-team nods in sophomores Payton Torrey and Hailey Brooks.

Torrey, the Vikings’ point guard, averaged 12.9 points, 5.7 rebounds, 5.5 steals and 3.8 assists per game. Brooks, a post, averaged 15 points, eight rebounds and two steals per game.

Mossyrock sophomore Caelyn Marshall and Pe Ell senior Carolann Baldwin each earned second-team picks.

Naselle coach Rose Nisbet was named Coach of the Year and the Washington School for the Deaf won the Team Sportsmanship Award.

The full all-league teams are listed below.


Annika Mason,  Pe Ell

First team

Hailey Brooks, Mossyrock; Payton Torrey, Mossyrock; Cami Swartz, Willapa Valley; Charlie Carper, Pe Ell; Bella Colombo, Naselle.

Second team

Lauren Katyryniuk, Naselle; Kaylin Shrives, Naselle; Carolann Baldwin, Pe Ell; Lanissa Amacher, Willapa Valley; Caelyn Marshall, Mossyrock.

Honorable mention

Peyton Dalton, Naselle; Delaney Kragerud, Naselle; Janet Tuz-Manrique, WSD; Maddie Dietrich, CAA; Lauren Wegner, CAA; Leah Pearson, CAA; Brenna Sherrill, CAA; Kendal Newport, TRC; Jessie Tevis, TRC; Kelsey Poyner, TRC.