Tenino girls secure home meet triumph


Fueled by a 1-2-3 finish in the 100-meter dash, a sweep of the three distance events and Paisley Garcia claiming both hurdle races, the Beavers accumulated 135 points to win the team race at their home invite on Monday night.

Onalaska clipped Mossyrock 102-100 for second while Pe Ell registered 34 points for fourth and Oakville was fifth with 30 points.

Garcia cruised in the 300-meter hurdles by over six seconds and edged out teammate Kendall Cox in 100 hurdles. Tenino’s Brynn Williams dominated the 1,600 and 3,200-meter runs, winning both events by over two minutes. Freshman Ashley Johnson won the open 800.

All three of the Beavers in the 100 – Holly Thoren, Kyla Watson and Kendra Cutlip – were separated by under .20 seconds at the finish line. Thoren triumphed in 14.29 seconds. Watson and Cutlip placed first and second in the long jump.

Onalaska showed its strengths in the field events once again as Halle Henricksen (shot put), Kara Wright (discus) and Sommer Zurinskas (high jump) all picked up wins. Zurinskas also won the open 400 and kicked off the Loggers’ winning 1,600-meter relay.

Mossyrock’s 400 and 800 relays were victorious as was Miley Sanders in the javelin. Pe Ell’s Bailey Cox won the triple jump.

On the boys side, Onalaska had a top-three finisher in 12 of 16 events to pile 148 points and breeze by runner-up Pe Ell (114) and third place Tenino (109). Mossyrock took fourth with 55 points and Oakville tallied 26 points for fifth.

Justice Miller swept the discus and shot put and was the runner-up in javelin for the Loggers. He won the shot by three feet and the discus by nearly 30 feet. Riley Carter triumphed in the high jump, clearing the bar at 5 feet, 8 inches.

Isaac Fitch led a 1-2-3 finish in the open 400 for Onalaska and coasted to a time of 2:22.34 to win the open 800. Pe Ell’s Carter Phelps won three times, sweeping the hurdles and anchoring its 1,600-meter relay to a winning time of 3:50.48. Phelps edged out Tenino’s Carson Schall by .1 seconds in the 110s. The Trojans’ picked up a victory from Jakob Hayes in the triple jump.

The host Beavers saw Tristan Von Bargen sweep the distance races while Ashton Moore (100) and Austin Johnson (200) claimed the sprints. Moore also leaped over 19 feet to secure the long jump.

Mossyrock had a pair of winners in Marshall Brockway (javelin) and its 400 relay.