Marty, Ingram take home C2BL crowns


ONALASKA — Toledo’s Treyton Marty and Rainier’s Madison Ingram came away with the titles on the line at the Central 2B League championship meet, held Thursday at Onalaska Middle School.

Ingram led a contingent of five Mountaineers in the top seven spots in the girls race, as Rainier dominated its way to the team title, while host Onalaska came away with the boys’ team win in a much more spread-out field.

Covering the course in 21:57.39, Ingram beat teammate Angelica Askey (22:22.58) by 25 seconds, with Onalaska’s Melissa Reiman (22:52.76) taking third place. After her, it was two more Mountaineers, with Rayanna Wisner (23:03.17) finishing fourth and Ella Marvin (24:53.01) finishing fifth. 

Winlock’s Victoria Sancho was sixth in 25:01.85, and right on her heels came Kinsley Barlow, capping off Rainier’s team card in 25:08.21 to take seventh place before six of the nine schools on the course brought their first runner in.

Natalie Cardenas Hernandez was eighth for Winlock in 25:09.72, Mossyrock’s Joan Wedam was ninth in 25:14.21, and Rainier’s Emma Mathson rounded out the top 10 with a time of 25:22.22.

Adna’s Megan Price finished 14th in 27:05.29. Abigail Sympson led Morton-White Pass with a 17th-place time of 27:33.65, and Toledo’s Kasey Landreau finished in 28:45.65.

Marty ran the 5,000 meters in 16:46.78 for his second-best time of the fall, with Adna’s Jordan Stout coming second place in 17:07.84. Winlock’s Chase Trodahl took third with a time of 17:28.89, while MWP’s Hunter Brackett was fourth in 18:26.69, and Onalaska’s Isaac Fitch made it five schools in the top five with a time of 18:51.78.

But behind Fitch came fellow Logger Conner Blair (19:14.76), and after James Meldrum took seventh for Rainier (19:22.82) and Aiden Kampa (19:28.70) was eighth for MWP, Cole Russon came in for Ony in 19:31.10, out-sprinting Winlock’s Xavier Sancho-Carrillo for ninth place.

Three spots down the line, Riley Carter was 12th at 19:49.57, Austin Sturza capped off the team score with a 14th-place time of 19:53.40.

The Loggers beat out Adna, which also placed Nathanael Scheuber (19:47.07) in 11th, Treven Willis (20:01.51) in 15th, Bailey Davis (20:19.79) in 17th and Brady Morgan (21:10.68) in 24th.

MWP was third in the team scores, with Noah Gilstrap joining Brackett and Kampa in the top-20 with a 16th-place time of 20:11.37. Rainier was fourth and Winlock took fifth.

Mossyrock freshman Axel Diaz led the Vikings with a time of 21:02.30 to finish 23rd, and Napavine’s Landon Engelbertson was 37th at 22:17.90.

All 95 runners on the course Thursday qualified for the 1B/2B District 4 championship, which will be held next Saturday in Rainier.