2021 All-2A Evergreen Conference Baseball Teams


The Chronicle’s All-Area MVP, W.F. West senior Drew Reynolds, can now add 2A Evergreen Conference MVP to his resume after the league announced its 2021 all-league selections.

The Texas Tech-bound catcher was the top hitter on the county’s best baseball team, leading the Bearcats to a 13-1 record and a district championship victory over rival Tumwater.

Reynolds led the Bearcats in nearly every statistical hitting category, including batting average (.564); on-base percentage (.679); slugging percentage (.897); hits (22); RBI (19); runs (14); home runs (two) and walks (nine). He also hit a team second-best five doubles.

“He’s that guy that demands everyone’s attention,” W.F. West coach Bryan Bullock said. “The opposing team, they have to account for him. And then everybody on the (opposing) team knows they can’t run on us because we’ve got him behind the plate.”

The Bearcats also received four first-team selections and one second-team pick. Joining the first team were senior infielder Brit Lusk, senior outfielder Max Taylor and Cade Haller and senior pitcher Tanner Vaughn.

Vaughn was the top pitcher in the county, posting a 0.71 ERA while fanning 54 batters and allowing just three earned runs on 11 hits and 12 walks in 29.3 innings. He allowed zero home runs.

Brit, a third baseman, was W.F. West’s second-best hitter, batting .391 with 18 hits, 15 RBI, 12 runs and a .462 OBP.

Taylor, a center fielder, hit .308 with eight hits, nine runs, three stolen bases and had a .419 OBP even with missing eight games due to injury. Haller batted .293 with a .431 OBP, 12 hits, 13 runs and eight RBI.

Senior infielder Andrew Stafford was the Bearcats’ lone second-team selection.

For Centralia, the Tigers earned three first-team picks and three second-team selections.

Senior outfielder Noah Aliff, senior catcher Cameron Erickson and senior designated hitter Benito Valencia all were chosen for the first team.

Aliff, a pitcher and center fielder, struck out 36 batters in 34 innings on the mound and hit .308 with 16 hits, 15 runs and 10 RBI at the plate.

Erickson, who’s signed with Grays Harbor College, hit .294 with a .455 P, 12 hits, 14 RBI, seven runs and three doubles. He also posted a 2.92 ERA with six Ks in 12 innings on the mound.

“Cameron is a competitor,” Centralia coach Adam Riffe said. “He has the ability to switch his focus from laid back to go when the game begins. Camron has been a great asset behind the plate.”

Senior infielders Bayden Teitzel and Paris Chavez, and sophomore shortstop Moshie Eport, all earned second-team honors.

Rochester earned two first-team picks and one second-team pick. Sophomore outfielder Braden Hartley and junior utility Tony Groninger each were named to the first team, and senior catcher Cody Morton earned second-team honors.

Groninger was the Warriors’ staff ace, throwing a team-high 34.1 innings with 30 Ks and 43 putouts. At the plate, he hit .304 with a .431 OBP, 14 hits, nine RBI, three doubles and a team-high 12 runs.

“He is a quiet leader and great competitor who works extremely hard to get better every day,” Rochester coach Brad Quarnstrom said. 

Quarnstrom, along with Centralia coach Adam Riffe and Tumwater coach Lyle Overbay were all three named Coaches of the Year.

The full all-league selections are listed below.

Most Valuable Player: Drew Reynolds, Sr., W.F. West

First-team infielders: Camden Oram, Sr., Tumwater; Connor Bourbon, Sr., Tumwater; Brit Lusk, Sr., W.F. West; Brendan Wagner, Jr., Shelton; Eli Brown, Sr., Aberdeen.

First-team outfielders: Grady Finney, Sr., Tumwater; Noah Aliff, Sr., Centralia; Max Taylor,, Sr., W.F. West; Cade Haller, Sr., W.F. West; Braden Hartley, So., W.F. West.

First-team pitchers: Ryan Orr, Jr., Tumwater; Blake Smith, Jr., Tumwater; Tanner Vaughn, Sr., W.F. West; Kyle Gerchak, Jr., Shelton.

First-team catchers: Cameron Erickson, Sr., Centralia; Cody Morton, Sr., Rochester; Nate Kassler, Sr., Tumwater.

First-team designated hitter: Benito Valencia, Sr., Centralia.

First-team utility: Tony Groninger, Jr., Rochester.

Coaches of the Year: Adam Riffe, Centralia; Brad Quarnstrom, Rochester; Lyle Overbay, Tumwater.

Second-team infielders: Bayden Teitzel, Sr., Centralia; Paris Chavez, Sr., Centralia; Moshie Eport, So., Centralia; Andrew Stafford, Sr., W.F. West; Hunter Eisele, Fr., Aberdeen.

Second-team outfielders: Xander Shepler, So., Black Hills; Luca Pisani, Aberdeen; Cole Schendler, Shelton; Braiden Bond, So., Black Hills

Honorable mention: Kevin Snodgrass, Sr., Aberdeen; Derek Clark, Jr., Black Hills; Alec Lynch, Fr., Black Hills; Joseph Floyd, Fr., Black Hills; Cannon Hutson, Jr., Shelton; Tobyn Dudley, So., Shelton; Cole Tinsley, Sr., Shelton.