State House Democrats Re-Elect Jinkins as Speaker, Elect Six Other Leadership Positions


During a caucus reorganization meeting on Monday, Democrats in the state House held elections for seven caucus leadership positions. 

Rep. Laurie Jinkins, D-Tacoma, was re-elected to a third term as the speaker of the state House. She was first elected speaker for the 2020 legislative session. 

“The people of Washington have again chosen Democrats to lead in our state Legislature, and our caucus is ready to get to work on their behalf,” Jinkins said. “I want to thank my colleagues for their continued trust and confidence in me. More than ever, our caucus is reflective of the many diverse communities that make up this great state, and that ultimately makes the work we do better.”

Jinkins is now speaker-designate for the 2023 legislative session as her position requires a vote of the full House for formal election.

The Democrats also elected Rep. Joe Fitzgibbon, D-West Seattle, to be the House majority leader, replacing Pat Sullivan, D-Covington, who had served in the position since 2010 until he retired from the Legislature this year. 

“I’m honored to have earned the trust of my colleagues to serve as their Majority Leader, and I’m excited to get to work on our agenda to make life better for all Washingtonians,” Fitzgibbon said.

Besides Jinkins and Fitzgibbon, the Democrats in the state House elected Rep. Lillian Ortiz-Self, D-Mukilteo, as majority caucus chair; Rep. Monica Stonier, D-Vancouver, as majority floor leader; Rep. Alex Ramel, D-Bellingham, as majority whip; Rep. Tina Orwall, D-Des Moines, as speaker pro tempore-designate; and Rep. Dan Bronoske, D-Lakewood, as deputy speaker pro tempore-designate.